Crescent Collegiate honours graduates

Melissa Jenkins
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

In a beautiful speech inviting parents, grandparents, friends and teachers to Crescent Collegiate for the annual diploma ceremony Dec. 19, assistant principal Darryl George reminded the graduates of 2013 that it will always be their school.

"Crescent Collegiate will always be your school, the teachers will always be your teachers and you will always be our students," he announced to the gym of some-150 people.

After several more speeches, a band performance and a choral demonstration by the school's vocal ensemble, it was time to present individual awards earned by students during the 2012-13 school year, with Steven Rowe and Claire Newhook leading the way.

At 18 years old, Steven Rowe took home top honours in six courses - Biology 3201, Physics 3204, Math 3205, French 3200, World History 3101 and World Religion 3101. But that was only the beginning of his successful night.

Steven was also honoured with the student of the year award, as determined through both acedemics and contributions to school life, the Royal Canadian Legion attending university award, the Con-Tri Retired Teachers' Association scholarship the Ella Jerrett Memorial Scholarship, graduation with honours, the Philip Reid Memorial scholarship and the determined and successful senior high science student award.

The highlight of the night is when Steven was announced as the recipient of the coveted Governor General's bronze medal for receiving the highest overall average in Level II and III.

These awards are in addition to three other scholarships that he has already received - the Provincial Electoral scholarship for the district of Trinity-Bay de Verde, the Memorial University Entrance Scholarship for a 97 per cent average and the Patrick Tasker Masonic Education Academic scholarship.

Steven is currently attending Memorial University doing pre-pharmacy, and completed his first semester with a 4.0 GPA. He received a total of some $7,000 in scholarships towards his education.

Steven is the son of Glen and Laverne Rowe of Green's Harbour.

Claire Newhook, also 18, was a big winner at the awards ceremony, taking home top honours in Biology 3201, Chemistry 3202, Math 3205 and Math 3207. She also received the highest average award for French immersion in French and Social Studies courses. Claire was also the recipient of the honours award and the Ella Jerrett Memorial Scholarship.

Scholarships she had already received include the Provincial Electoral Scholarship for Bellevue and the Memorial University Entrance scholarship. All totalled, Claire received some $4,300 in scholarships.

Claire is the daughter of Charles and Sherry Lynn Newhook of Dildo.

Other award winners included:

° Charmaine Critch - Ella Jerrett Memorial, honours, Royal Canadian Legion attending college award, Cresscent Collegiate teachers' award, Frank Petipas Enterprise Education Memorial award, Physics 2204 highest overall average, Math 3204 highest overall average;

° Kristen Pevie - Senior high public speaking award, highest overall average for English 2302;

° Noelle Russell - honours, athlete of the year (female); second overall in French immersion, highest average in Français 3202, English 3201 Fry Family Foundation leadership achievement award, Raymond Gushue Memorial scholarship;

° Chelsea Culleton - honours, Ella Jerrett Memorial, volleyball player of the year, Royal Canadian Legion family member award, Royal Canadian Legion Level III scholarship; highest overall average in World Geography 3202; Memorial University entrance scholarship;

° Colin Jackson - Ella Jarrett Memorial, honours, Royal Canadian Legion Level II award, SUF Memorial scholarship, Fry Family Foundation leadership achievement award, ATCO Structures and Logistics bursary;

° Claudia Elliott - Harwood scholarship worth $5,000; Monty's Restaurant Outstanding Work Ethic in senior high math;

° Kaitlin Hann - third overall in French immersion;

° Amber Brenton - choir award;

° Erin Burke - senior high art award;

° Joshua Newhook - Alphonsus Didham Memorial scholarship;

° Julieanne George - Avalon Sleeveens Dedication to Drama award, senior high writing award;

° Marissa Keating - Heavey Civil Association NL scholarship;

° Renee Osbourne - the Glenn Day Memorial Community Spirit award;

° Terri-Lynn Hoskins - honours, Town of Whiteway Leadership award, Clearwater Fleet tuition assistance scholarship, NAPE at-large scholarship;

° Brookelyn Higdon - honours, Cal LeGrow safe and caring schools scholarship, NL Cheerleaing Athletic Association scholarship;

° Jordan Mercer - athlete of the year (male);

° Robin Hefford (Level II) - Royal Canadian Legion poppy scholarship;

° Andrew George - honours;

° Bethany Chislett - Keyin College scholarship;

° Joshua St. George - honours, Suncor scholarship; and

° Christopher Gosse - honours.

Organizations: Keyin College, Royal Canadian Legion, Con-Tri Retired Teachers Patrick Tasker Masonic Education Academic Family Foundation Provincial Electoral Scholarship for Bellevue Memorial University Entrance NL Cheerleaing Athletic Association

Geographic location: Trinity, Bay de Verde

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page