Fogo Island student selected as a Loran Scholar

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Sarah Greene of Fogo Island has been selected from thousands of applicants as a Loran Scholar.

Loran Scholar Sarah Greene

Sarah Greene of Fogo Island has been selected from thousands of applicants as a Loran Scholar.

The Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation has selected 30 high school students from an initial pool of nearly 3,500 applicants as the 25th class of Loran Scholars.

Each student will receive Canada’s largest and most unconventional undergraduate merit award, which is valued at up to $80,000 over four years and includes mentorship and a summer program.

“These students have shown integrity, determination, and an entrepreneurial spirit through the breadth and depth of their extracurricular activities,” said Franca Gucciardi, executive director of the foundation and a 1990 Loran Scholar. “These are traits that Canada’s future leaders need to succeed and contribute to a thriving society.”

The students were selected on the basis of character, service and leadership potential through the most rigorous and personalized scholarship selection process in Canada. The process includes regional and national interviews with up to 12 assessors over three months.

In its 25th year, the program counts among its alumni successful entrepreneurs and the CEO of a publicly traded company, executive directors of local and national charities, a half-dozen clerks at the Supreme Court of Canada and 15 Rhodes Scholars. More than 80 per cent of alumni have supported the program financially, including 1992 Loran Scholar Lucas Skoczkowski who recently made the largest individual gift ($554,000) in the foundation’s history.

Seventy-three national finalists participated in two days of selection interviews in Toronto on Feb. 14-15. The finalists who were not selected receive a $3,000 award.


Organizations: Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation, Supreme Court of Canada

Geographic location: Canada, Fogo Island, Toronto

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page