NL Arts Awards finalists announced

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council has announced the finalists for this year’s Arts Awards, set to take place in Clarenville at the end of the month.

The annual awards ceremony is a celebration of the arts in this province, and recognizes artists with the presentation of six awards. Finalists for three of those were announced by the NLAC today.

Mixed media/visual/theatre artist Jason Ross Sellars, visual artist Chris Short and musician Darren White have been nominated in the Memorial University Arts in Education category, which recognizes an artist who has made a contribution to arts education in the province over a number of years.

Filmmakers Barbara Doran and Rosemary House and singer/songwriter Pamela Morgan are vying for the Cox and Palmer Arts Achivement Award, which honours an artist who has contributed to the province’s cultural life over a period of years.

In the CBC Emerging Artist category, which recognizes new talent, filmmaker Stephen Dunn, visual artist Mike Gough and dancer Candice Pike have been nominated.

No finalists have been announced in advance for the BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year Award.

Noreen Golfman, who co-founded the St. John’s Women’s International Film Festival, and Dudley Cox, founder of Newfoundland Travelling Theatre Company, will be inducted into the Fortis Properties Arts Hall of Honour at the event.

As well, Marlene Cahill will be presented with the Patron of the Arts Award. The award is given to a person, group or organization in honour of their support to the artistic community.

The arts awards gala will take place at the Clarenville Arts Centre April 26, with host John Sheehan, musical hosts Long Distance Runners and performances by Katie Baggs, Monica Walsh and Bryan Hennessey.

The artwork to be presented to the winners this year has been created by Scott Goudie.

“We’re looking forward to putting on a great show that applauds our strong provincial arts and cultureal community,” said NLAC director Reg Winsor.

Tickets for the arts awards are $20 (including surcharge) and are available at the Clarenville Arts Centre box office or by calling 466-4105, Ext. 222.



Organizations: Memorial University Arts, Barbara Doran and Rosemary House, Clarenville Arts Centre Newfoundland Travelling Theatre Company Fortis Properties Arts Hall

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page