Former Heart’s Desire mayor resigns from council

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

A former mayor of Heart's Desire who served on the town’s council for almost 20 years is resigning.

News update

Patrick Coombs did not offer a particular reason for his decision to leave council when contacted by The Compass on Monday.

Coombs was the town’s mayor for eight years before he stepped down in 2010 because of health concerns. He remained on council and reclaimed his seat in the 2013 general election. Coombs is also a former deputy mayor. Francis St. George has served as Heart’s Desire’s mayor since 2010.

The town has issued a call for nominations to fill the vacant seat on council. Nominations will be received on Jan. 26. If more than one candidate comes forward, a byelection will be held Feb. 16.

The current council in Heart’s Desire consists of St. George, Deputy Mayor Colleen Murphy, Robert Clarke, Mary (Jackie) Lahey, Sean Lahey and Patrick Murphy. Clarke joined council in 2014 following the resignation of Elizabeth Langer, who moved away from Heart’s Desire.

Organizations: The Compass

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page