Baccalieu Collegiate educator recognized for athletic contributions

Nicholas Mercer
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

A teacher from Baccalieu Collegiate in Old Perlican is being recognized for her work with school sports.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Joan Kelly will be honoured for her contribution to athletics in the Conception Bay North region at the School Sports Newfoundland and Labrador Annual General Meeting and Awards banquet being held at the Comfort Inn Airport in St. John’s on May 30.

Kelly, a longtime educator at Baccalieu, is heavily involved in the athletic community at the school. She has coached volleyball at both the senior high and junior high levels in the past.

“(Joan) is a fantastic coach,” said assistant principal Garland Button.

Kelly has also been a key figure on the regional volleyball on the north shore of Conception Bay having spent time teaching in Bay de Verde and Northern Bay as well as Old Perlcian.

She is also a key proponent in the school’s public speaking community, as well as the annual Grade 8 hero celebration.

Other educators from across the province being recognized are: Megan Conroy (Holy Heart of Mary, St. John’s), Janice Hayward (Catalina Academy), Dwayne Evans (Marystown Academy), Dean Johnson (Lakewood Academy, Glenwood), Jordan Tibbo (King Academy, Harbour Breton), Marc Toms (Cape John Collegiate, La Scie), Bill Carter (St. James Regional High, Port aux Basques), Greg Sharpe (Viking Trail Academy, Plum Point) and Phil Snow (Wiliam Gillett Academy, Charlottetown).

The Br. G. I Moore male and female student-athlete of the year will also be rewarded at the ceremony.

The 2013-2014 female athlete of the year is Hannah Stokes of Stephenville High, while Miguel Dredge of Viking Trail Academy in Plum Point was named the male student-athlete of the year.

Along with the two athletes above, the following will also receive scholarships of either $750, $500 or $250: Natalie Burt (Valmont Academy, King’s Point), Victoria Healy (Roncalli High, Avondale), Tiruri Lomand (Stephenville High) and James Devoe (Belanger Memorial, Doyles).

Meanwhile, John Ping from Cloud River Academy in Roddickton has been recognized with the Coaching Service Award, while Roger Jacobs of Indian River High in Springdale has been given an Honor Award.

Organizations: Comfort Inn Airport, Janice Hayward, Catalina Academy Dwayne Evans Marystown Academy Lakewood Academy King Academy Wiliam Gillett Academy The Br Viking Trail Academy Valmont Academy Cloud River Academy Coaching Service

Geographic location: Conception Bay North, Plum Point, Bay de Verde Northern Bay Glenwood La Scie Port aux Basques Charlottetown Roddickton Springdale

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page