Bay Roberts named one of 10 finalists for Kraft Hockeyville

The Bay Arena is the only stadium from NL to make it as a finalist

Published on March 6, 2017

The town of Bay Roberts takes great pride in their arena.

©Submitted photo

Kraft Hockeyville announced its 10 finalists Saturday night, and the Bay Roberts Bay Arena was among them.

 The Arena, which is approximately 35-years-old, is used about 15 hours a day by the community, including minor hockey and figure skating groups, and recreational users.

Bay Roberts Mayor Philip Wood says the staff tend to the building as best they can, but there are still some issues. A leaky roof, as well as some damage from an electrical fire, are the main concerns the building face at the moment.

“Yes, it’s always nice to win the money, but it also does a lot for community spirit and pride,” said Wood. “I think the pride we have in our community is one of the main reasons we got the attention of Kraft.”

The grand prize for the winner of Kraft Hockeyville 2017 is $100,000 in arena upgrades, as well as an NHL pre-season game. The second place winner also receives $100,000 in arena upgrades, and the remaining eight finalists receive $25,000.

Voting begins 9:00 AM Eastern Standard Time (10:30 AM Newfoundland Standard Time) on Sunday, March 12th,  and ends at 12:00 AM EST (1:30 AM NST) on Tuesday, March 14th.  Voting will take place online at www.KHV2017.ca.

editor@cbncompass.ca