Resignation leaves Cupids council one member short

Melissa Jenkins
Published on February 26, 2014

The Town of Cupids in Conception Bay has lost one of its seven-member council after a councillor stepped down last month.

Thomas Power resigned his seat “shortly after the new year”, citing personal reasons. He officially signed the paperwork earlier this month.

Power was acclaimed to council during the 2013 municipal elections. The town did not need to hold an election.

Power is the second member to resign their seat since September.

Prior to being sworn in after being acclamed, Henry Hurley announced he would not be accepting the position.

Only six months into the four-year term, the town of some 760 residents will have to hold nominations for the second time.

This is not the first time an active councillor has stepped aside in the community.

Early last year former mayor Ron Laracy resigned his post because he was too busy to fulfill his duties. Former councillor Harvey Puddister left his position a few weeks later.

The town will hold nominations April 8, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the town hall and, if necessary, a byelection will be held April 29 at the same location.

Other members of the Cupids council are, Mayor Harold Akerman, Deputy Mayor Christine Burry, Darrin Akerman, Mike Power, Kevin Connolly and Doug Furey.