Astros captures Wesley Gosse Memorial Tournament trophy

Published on December 6, 2011
Ascension Collegaite Astros' captain Cody Batten raises the Wesley Gosse Memorial Trophy as he is mobbed by his teammates after the Astros beat Mount Pearl Senior High 4-1 in the final.
Photo by Nicholas Mercer/The Compass

It took a week longer than they would have liked, but the Ascension Collegiate Astros sealed the deal and captured the championship by beating Mount Pearl Senior High 4-1 in the final of the 21st Annual Wesley Gosse Memorial Tournament Sunday at the Bay Arena in Bay Roberts.

 The two teams played an even first period, in front of 600 fans.

Ascension, of Bay Roberts, jumped out to a 1-0 lead after captain Cody Batten took a pass from Brandon Petten and deposited in the net behind Huskies goaltender Jordan Ryan. Anthony Nippard also assisted on the play.

The lead was short-lived as Mount Pearl would strike four minutes later on a marker by Brandon Bursey. Andrew Hayley would garner an assist on the play.

That would be the end of Mount Pearl's scoring.

Astros goaltender Mitchell Dobbin, who seemed to be fighting the puck earlier in the game, settled down in the second period and shut the door the rest of the way, making key saves when called upon and getting a little help from the goaltender's best friend - the goal posts.

Mount Pearl hit two of them in the second frame.

Bay Roberts would score twice in the second period with Brady Barrett and Evan Francis finding the back of the net, making the score 3-1 after two. Batten picked up an assist on Barrett's goal.

Nippard scored at 9:35 of the third period, putting the game out of reach and making the final score 4-1.

The win marks the twelfth time Ascension has captured the championship in 21 years.

Cody Batten was named tournament MVP for the Astros.

Members of the championship team are: Cody Batten, Mitchell Dobbin, Anthony Nippard, Brandon Petten, Bradley Parsons, Adam Oates, Brady Barrett, Nick Noseworthy, Brandon Moriarity, Evan Francis, Tyson Drover, Kyle Mugford, Nick Peach, Josh Ledrew, Michael Critch, Scott Mercer, Bradley Barrett, Kyle Cronin and coaches Paul Gosse, Keith Mercer and Jeremy Mercer.