Ascension Collegiate wins 13th Wesley Gosse championship

Astros posts convincing win over Discovery Collegiate in title game at Bay Arena

Nicholas Mercer
Published on November 26, 2012
Ascension Collegiate Astros captain Brandon Petten (centre) hoists the Wesley Gosse Memorial trophy above his head moments after his teamd defeated the Cabot Academy Destroyers 7-3 to claim the prestigious award. Petten is flanked by seniors Mitchell Dobbin (left), Tyson Drover (second from left), Josh LeDrew and Nick Noseworthy (right).
Photo by Nicholas Mercer/The Compass

For the second straight year, the Ascension Collegiate Astros are Wesley Gosse Memorial Tournament champions.

The Astros, of Bay Roberts, beat Discovery Collegiate of Bonavista 7-3 in the title game.

The Astros got on the board first after Discovery keeper Jeremy Freake let in a soft one off the stick of Johnny Butler at 8:43 of the first period.

The lead was short-lived as Conal McNamara beat Ascension starter Mitchell Dobbin just three minutes later.

Three minutes after that, Astros’ forward Brady Barrett banked a puck in off a skate in front of the Discovery goal to make the score 2-1 heading into the second period.

The game was close heading into the second even though the majority of the first frame was spent in Discovery's end.

That changed in the second period as Ascension started pouring on the pressure and registered three goals in the second. Scott Mercer got things going for the Astros to make it 3-1.

Mercer’s goal was followed by a great individual effort from Butler. He beat Freake stick-side to make the game 4-1.

McNamara responded with his second of the game before Tyson Drover scored with .45 seconds remaining in the period to make it 5-2 heading into intermission.

The Astros would score two more in the third with Drover and Barrett each picking up their second goals of the game.

Connor Stevens replied for Discovery.

With the victory, the Astros captured their 13th Wesley Gosse title in the 22 year history of the tournament.

Astros captain Brandon Petten was named tournament most valuable player.

Meanwhile, teams from Crescent Collegiate and Carboner Collegiate went winless at the tournament.

Members of the championship team are: Mackenzie Dobbin, Mitchell Dobbin, Brandon Petten, Tyson Drover, Josh LeDrew, Nick Noseworthy, Kelland Mercer, Ryan Dawson, Brady Power, Brady Barrett, Colin Pottle, Willie Hayes, Kyle Mugford, Scott Mercer, Kyle Cronin, Andrew Churchill, Christian Dawe, Reilly Deering, Brandon Moriarity, Adam Oates, Bradley Barrett, Michael Critch and Johnny Butler. Coaches are Paul Gosse, Ron Noseworthy, Keith Mercer, Trevor Dixon and Jeremy Mercer.