Trent Drover leads CeeBees bantam team to win at Bay Arena tourney

Host entry, Trinity Placentia team fall in semifinals

Nicholas Mercer
Published on January 13, 2014

Fans at the Bay Arena in Bay Roberts for the championship game of the bantam tournament on Jan. 12 between the CeeBees and Northeast Eagles were treated to a barnburner.

The teams went back and forth over the 45 minutes of game action. The game featured big hits, impressive goaltending, slick passing and deft skating.

But, in the end, it was Harbour Grace that prevailed with the tight, hard fought 4-3 victory.

Upper Island Cove’s Trent Drover led the way for the CeeBees notching all four tallies for the club and being named the games player of the game.

Drover is the son of Christine and Jeff Drover.

There was no score after the first 15 minutes, but Northeast got on the board first in the second frame when Michael Saunders slide the puck into an open net after a CeeBees defenceman had slide into starter Kelsey Shute.

However, the CeeBees were quick to respond. Drover banged in loss puck in front of the Northeast goal after a point shot from defenceman Samantha Pike.

Seconds later, Northeast responded when Brandon Gould made a slick move to beat Shute.

Minutes later, the CeeBees again struck even. Drover took a pass from Ryon Williams and beat Eagles goaltender Ryan Murley.

Shortly after this goal, there was 15-minute delay in the game as the breaker in the stadium blew and some lights shut off.

When play resumed, it took the CeeBees three minutes to take the lead when Drover again deposited a goal in the net behind Murley. Williams and Kaleb Noel had the assists on the goal.

Drover had one more goal in him, as the CeeBees built a two-goal advantage that they would not relinquish.

The Eagles would score with .22 seconds to go in the frame to set up a dramatic third period.

In the third, the CeeBees and Eagles would trade chances but goaltenders Shute and Murley were up to the task, making big saves when they had too. The Eagles threatened in the dying seconds, but were unable to be Shute.

 When the horn sounded, the CeeBees were tournament champions.

The host Bay Arena Rovers narrowly missed out on the final after dropping a razor-thin 1-0 decision to the Eagles, while the CeeBees punched their ticket to the championship after a sound defeat of the Trinity Placentia TeePees in the other semifinals.

Members of the championship team are: Kelsey Shute, Devon Groves, Ryon Williams, Matthew Hoyles, Trent Drover, Samantha Pike, Lucas Lynch, Richie Baker, Mason Moores, Jack Lambert, Nick Morgan, Madison Sheehan, Colin Jones, Aaron Osbourne, Noah Donovan, Matthew Butt and Caleb Noel.

For expanded coverage of the tournament, see the Jan. 21 print edition of the Compass.