Tri Pen AAA bantams fall short in bid for provincial title

Nicholas Mercer
Published on February 24, 2014

The Tri Pen Ice bantam AAA team were forced to settle for silver at the 2014 Irving Oil Bantam AAA Hockey Championships held at the Gros Morne Arena Feb. 21-23.

In the championship match, the Ice were defeated 5-0 by the St. John’s Ice Breakers.  With the win, St. John’s are headed to the Irving Oil Bantam Atlantic Challenge Cup in Mount Pearl, NL April 3-6.

Despite the loss, the Ice solidified themselves as one of the top bantam-aged teams in the province.

Matthew McKim led the way for the Ice Breakers, registering a hat trick in the final. Joel Bishop and Ian Smallwood had the other goals the provincial champs.

The Ice are made up of players from minor associations in Bay Roberts, Harbour Grace, Clarenville, Whitbourne, Bonavista, Marystown and Placentia.

The tournament did not start out Tri Pen’s way. The team narrowly dropped its first matchup to Western 2-1.

Ryan Petten had the lone goal for the Ice. Colin Parsons picked up the assist on the play.

Things did not get much better as the Ice were defeated 5-2 by the eventual champions, St. John’s.

Noah Mercer and Matthew Edgecombe had the goals, while Liam Leonard and Noah Mercer had the assists.

In their third game of the tournament, the Ice finally got on in the win column. Having dropped the first two games, it was imperative the Ice get the victory

Tri Pen doubled the representatives from Tri Com 4-2, pushing their record to 1-2. Cameron Simms and Ryan Petten each had a pair of goals to pace the Ice. Simms (2), Colin Parsons and Zachary Bennett had the assists.

Heading into its fourth and final game of the tourney, the Ice needed a victory over Central to punch its ticket to the final.

Tri Pen took care of business in handing the IcePak a 5-2 loss and pushing its record to two wins and two losses.

Cameron Simms had a pair of goals, and Noah Mercer, Liam Leonard and Mark Barrett had singles. Simms, Leonard and Zachary Bennett had the assists.

Members of the Ice are: Tristan Gray, Owen Petten, Nick Abbott, Riley Baker, Mark Barrett, Noah Donovan, Liam Leonard, Noah Mercer, Ryan Petten, Cameron Simms, Josh Williams, Zachary Bennett, Brandon Crane, Matthew Edgecombe, Edward Farrell, Mason Oates, Colin Parsons Michael Brockerville and Ryon Williams.