Nothing quite like home

Under-12 Roverines sink Mariners in home tournament final

Nicholas Mercer
Published on February 27, 2014

One of the best feelings in minor hockey is winning your home tournament.

One of the best feelings in minor hockey is winning your home tournament.

It's simple really.

Players get to accomplish the feat in front of friends and family members in their home rink.

At the Bay Arena in Bay Roberts on Feb. 16, the Bay Arena minor's under-12 female team accomplished that exact feat.

In the final of its home tourney, the Roverines soundly defeated the Marystown Mariners 4-1 to capture the championship.

The final featured two strong teams vying for the coveted title. There was slick skating, smooth passing and loads of excitement.

The game was a rematch from an earlier matchup in the round robin. Then, the Mariners bested the Roverines 3-0.

With Bay Arena looking for revenge, Sydney Reid put the Roverins up 1-0 early. Abby McCue picked up the assist.

The 1-0 advantage would last until just before the first period ended. Marystown's Cathy Semor lit the lamp with .10 seconds left in the frame.

However, that would be all the scoring the Mariners would muster.

The Roverines would go on to score three unanswered goals. McCue got things started at 4:22 of the second when she beat Marystown starter Mallory Spencer.

Abby Reid and Darcy Jones had the helpers.

Abby Reid put Bay Arena up 3-1 in the third, with help from Jones and McCue.

Rebeca Bennett would put the game out of reach with her marker at 1:42 of the third. Abby Reid had the assist.

In the round robin, the Roverines went 2-1, defeating the CeeBees (5-0) and the Clarenville Caribous (2-1).

Members of the Roverines are: Sydney Reid, Rebecca Bennett, Abby McCue, Abby Reid, Darcy Jones, Hannah Young, Hannah Hickey, Tianna Poole, Jamie Drover, Brooke Mercer and Jacob Reid.

The CeeBees

The CeeBees minor under-12 female squad was also involved in the tournament. While the team went winless in three games, the CeeBees put up a fight in each match.

The CeeBees team are: Maggie Jones, Kerra Coombs, Jenna Whalen, Cassie Drover, Julia Verge, Katie Shute, Kira Noel, Sammie Jo Haire, Hillary Reardon, Kiera Haynes, Hope Finlayson, Olivia Gilbert, Hailey Bishop, Jilian Newhook, Kaitlyn Pike and Morgan Reynolds.