North Shore softball wraps successful season

Nicholas Mercer
Published on September 3, 2014

As the leaves begin to fade and students start the new school year it signifies the conclusion of the softball season.


Players will carefully stow their cleats and gloves away in closets or basements all the while remembering their first hit of the summer or that tournament win.

Volunteers will close the doors on another successful season and parents while daydream about warm days over winters in the stadium.

The North Shore Wreckers, based out of Western Bay, was one of those programs that had much success this summer.

On the weekend of Aug. 22-24, the fledgling association was exceptionally busy.

The excited players of the mite Wreckers were playing their first ever games at the provincial tournament hosted by Bay Bulls and Witless Bay. The team got better with each game and picked up a victory in their final contest.

Members of the team are Leo Winter, Rilan Swain, Carson Meadus, Bryanna Hogan, Morgan Slade, Shyann Rose, Brooklyn Meadus, Cody King, Nolan Swain, Cassie Hogan, and Georgia Slade. The squad was coached by Ralph and Lynn Slade.

Closer to home in Butlerville, the Wreckers’ squirt reps fell short in a trio of games with their competitors. The squirt team is comprised of  Brady Penney, Mason Kelloway, Brady McNeil, Mitchell Bursey, Brandon Younge, Hannah Button, Devon Cull, Brandon Cannings, Rebecca Short, Jacob Brookings, Diego Rose, Hailey Kennedy, and Nathan.  Andrew Parsons, Mitchell Preston, Amanda Preston, Chris Brookings and Darren Cull coached the team.

Meanwhile, the bantam team captured its third gold medal of the summer after taking the championship in a highly competitive tournament hosted in Butlerville. The Wreckers did not drop a game against teams from Brook Cove, Winterton, Bay Roberts and the host team.

Members of the three-time champions are Mitchell and Amanda Preston, Chris Brookings, Ryan Trickett, Tristen Whalen, Cameron Reid, Kyle Bursey, Liam Button, Lucas Scott, Kyle Parsons, and MacKenzie Penney. Helping guide the team to victory was Rick Parsons, Ralph Slade, and Andrew Parsons.