Sport Newfoundland and Labrador reveals 2017 provincial awards finalists

Winners in nine categories to be announced at Stars and Legends gala April 8

Published on March 17, 2017

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the finalists for its 2017 provincial awards to be presented next month in St. John’s.

Awards will be presented in nine categories, including four for individual athletes — senior male and female, and junior male and female. The other categories are team of the year, executive of the year, volunteer of the year, coach of the year and official of the year.
Three finalists from each category were chosen by a Sport Newfoundland and Labrador selection committee from a long list of nominees compiled by SNL’s 18 member organizations.
The finalists for each award:
• Senior female athlete
Sarah Davis (hockey), Jillian Forsey (athletics), Heather Healey (baseball),
• Senior male athlete
Blair Bursey (golf), Sean Cleary (softball), Patrick Parfrey (rugby)
• Junior female athlete
Camryn Bonia (athletics), Alex Murphy (soccer), Sarah Pace (gymnastics)
• Junior male athlete
Nathaniel Besso (karate), Liam Hickey (para-sport), Evan Knight (athletics)
• Executive
John Cowan (rugby), David Janes (baseball), Paul F. Smith (softball),
• Volunteer
Shane Dunphy (soccer), Brian Hunt (baseball), Denise May (gymnastics)
• Coach
Jennifer Stender (athletics), Noel Strapp (wrestling), Dave Woolridge (shooting)
• Team
Galway Hitmen (softball), Team Gushue (curling), Willingdon Cup Team NL (golf)
• Official
Ryan Garland (baseball), Iain Hollett (ball hockey), Shannon Tobin (soccer)
The 2017 award winners will be announced at the ninth annual Stars and Legends Awards Gala April 8 at the Sheraton Hotel. The Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony will also take place that night, with Gerry Lomond (builder), Rod Snow (athlete) and Glenn Stanford (athlete/builder) being inducted.
Tickets for this event are available for purchase through Sport Newfoundland and Labrador at (709) 576-4932.