They're up for the Challenge: NL team named for QMJHL showcase

Published on April 12, 2017

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador has revealed the roster for the province’s entry for the 2017 QMJHL Excellence Challenge to be played in Blainville, Que., later this month.

Hockey NL Logo

The six-team Challenge (there is one entry from each of the Atlantic provinces and two from Quebec) is an under-16 competition viewed by Quebec Major Junior Hockey League scouts as a signature event leading up to the league’s 2017 draft. It is also used as a gateway into Hockey Canada’s under-17 program and used to evaluate players for possible selection to the national under-17 summer camp, which will involve 108 players in all. From that July camp, 66 players will be selected to form three Canadian teams to compete at the World Under 17 Challenge in the fall of this year.
Here’s Newfoundland and Labrador’s roster for the Excellence Challenge, to be held April 27-30:
Goalies — Michael Day, Grand Falls -Windsor; Riley Petten, Port De Grave
Defencemen — Campbell Clarke, St. John's; Malcolm Genge, Anchor Point; Gregory Kehoe, St. John's; Jared Milley, Mount Pearl; Michael Oliver, Mount Pearl; Lucas Russell, Bay Roberts
Forwards — Evan Bennett, Gander; Brett Budgell, St. John's; David Hibbs, Bay Roberts; Alex Hickman, St. John's; Will Keating, Corner Brook; Brendan McCarthy, Goulds; Dawson Mercer, Bay Roberts; Alex Newhook, St. John’s; Kyle Petten, Coley's Point; Noah Rowe, St. John's; Mark Rumsey, St. John's; Regan Seymour, St. John’s