Top News

Carbonear athletes, volunteers receive awards for dedication to community

CARBONEAR, NL — Carbonear recently recognized some of the community’s prominent figures in local sports and organizations.

On Thursday night, March 1, Carbonear residents and representatives of the town council gathered at the Carbonear Swimming Pool for the 2018 annual awards ceremony, sponsored by the parks and recreation committee.

With a nearly packed audience, there were plenty of proud friends and family members present for the event, which saw people of all ages celebrated for their commitment to and active participation in the community.

Five awards were given out during the event, with several being split between a male and female recipient, as well as a $5,000-scholarship.

“One of our rules as a council is to always enhance and maintain our town’s recreation facilities, which are second to none in the province” said Coun. Ray Noel. “And of course, we also aim to provide quality programming. Our goal is to ensure this always occurs.”

Noel said Thursday night’s event was to recognize those who have played significant roles in the town’s sports and volunteering communities, with specific awards dedicated to both areas.

“One of the best ways to show appreciation is by volunteering in a community and it really is never too late to get involved,” he said.

The event began by with junior and senior, male and female athletes of the year before moving on to other awards such as team of the year, male and female volunteers of the year, a new Hall of Fame induction and the Roy Howell award, given to someone who has excelled in the local sporting community.

“It’s hard not to get emotional after hearing all those stories,” said Darrell Noel, the newest inductee into Carbonear’s hall of fame for his lengthy record as a member of the community in various aspects. “It really is such an honour to see this happen.”

Kerri Abbott, recipient of the female volunteer of the year award, also spoke highly of the honour, but said receiving such honours is not why she is involved in the community.

“I don’t do this to be recognized. This is a tremendous honour, but no one volunteers for the recognition. I’ve been involved with the food bank for a while now, and I do it because I love it. I see people who need help, and I love being there for them. That’s what it’s all about to me.”

Award recipients:

Roy Howell Award – Lyndon Pike

Hall of Fame induction – Darrell Noel

Junior male athlete of the year – Adrian Green

Junior female athlete of the year – Emma Cleary

Senior male athlete of the year – Josh Griffin

Senior female athlete of the year – Sandra Smith

Team of the year – Carbonear Under-14 Softball

Male volunteer of the year – Nick Saunders

Female volunteer of the year – Kerri Abbott

1992 Summer Games Scholarship – Matthew Hoyles

Recent Stories