Top News

Bantam Hitmen, peewee Thunder win provincial AAA hockey championships


The St. John’s Hitmen lost 3-1 to the Tricom Thunder in round-robin play, but won the big game by a 5-2 count in the final of the Marco provincial AAA bantam hockey championship Sunday at the Trinity-Placentia Stadium in Whitbourne.

The Hitmen will play host to the Atlantic AAA bantam championship April 5-8.
Because the tournament is in Newfoundland, at Torbay’s Jack Byrne Arena, the Thunder will act as the provincial representative.
Jordan Winter, James Clarke, Andrew Percy, Zach Hawco and Patrick Hurley scored for St. John’s in Sunday’s final.
St. John’s advanced with a 5-1 win over Tri-Pen Ice in the semifinal.
St. John’s was first at 30-5-1 in the Newfoundland and Labrador AAA Bantam Hockey League this season. Tricom finished second at 28-7-1.

AAA bantam award winners for the 2017-18 season
MVP and top scorer: Zack Dean (Tricom)
Top goals against average: Will Dyke (St. John’s)
Rookie of the year: Nathan Casey (Central)
Top defenceman: Dawson Crane (Tri-Pen)
Most gentlemanly and effective: Chase Wellon (Tricom)
Scholastic player of the year: Drew Locke (St. John’s)
Coach of the year: Doug Jackman (St. John’s)

Tricom Thunder won the Marco provincial peewee AAA championship Sunday in Bishop’s Falls, beating the St. John’s Hitmen 4-2 in the championship game.
Mitchell Wagner led the winners with two goals. Wagner was the regular season scoring leader with 53 goals and 79 points in 29 games.
Ryan Loveless and Michael Strapp also scored for the winners.
Nick Branton and Matteo Rotondi replied. Keegan Warren registered the win in goal. Sean Hogan was between the pipes for St. John’s.

AAA peewee award winners for the 2017-18 season
MVP and top defenceman: Will Scott (St. John’s)
Top scorer: Mitchell Wagner (Tricom)
Top goaltender: Keegan Warren (Tricom)
Top goals against average: Clay Ryan and Sean Hogan (St. John’s)
Rookie of the year: Matty Butler (St. John’s)
Most gentlemanly and effective: Mateo Rotundi (St. John’s)
Scholastic player of the year: John Park (Tri-Pen)
Coach of the year: Trevor Budgell (Tricom)

Recent Stories