Top News

Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association’s annual award winners announced

Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association
Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association

ST. JOHN'S, NL - The Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association (NLSA) has announced the winners of the organization’s annual awards, which recognize outstanding players, coaches, teams and volunteers.

The awards will be formally presented April 5 as part of the NLSA’s Hall of Fame induction ceremonies at the Shriner’s Club in St. John’s.

“(This year) generated some outstanding performances at the local, Atlantic, national and university levels, including the province’s first ever senior women’s Jubilee Trophy medal,” said NLSA president Doug Redmond.

“From youth players who made their mark at the Canada Games, Challenge Cup and Jubilee Trophy levels, to the officials and volunteers who make it all possible, the selection committee had some tough choices to make with their final selections.”

The 2017 NLSA award winners are:

Junior female (Judi Kelloway Award) – Sydney Walsh, U-18 Provincial Team, Memorial University Seahawks, Kirby United

Junior male (George Innes Award) – Jacob Grant, U-18 Provincial Team, Holy Cross Kirby Group

Senior female (Laura Breen Award) – Jessie Noseworthy, Holy Cross Avalon Ford, Memorial University Seahawks

Senior male (Brian Murphy Award) – Alex Pretty, Holy Cross Kirby Group, Memorial University Seahawks

Team of the year (Angus Barrett Award) – Holy Cross Avalon Ford (Jubilee Trophy)

Coach of the year (Doug Sweetapple Award) – Jeremy Babstock, Holy Cross Kirby Group

Executive of the year (Ben Lake Award) – Brian Rice, Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s Soccer Association

Volunteer of the year (Doug Redmond Award) – Don Coombs, Conception Bay North Soccer Association

Referee of the year (Ross Arlett Award) – Dave Pitman

Recent Stories