Wednesday, July 24, 2024

‘The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty’ Canceled by HBO – Deadline

Time to win: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty has come to an end.

Creator Max Borenstein confirmed the news on X after Sunday’s second season finale.

“Not the result we had in mind” He wrote. “But nothing but thanks and love.”

Directed by Sally Richardson Followed on Instagram “When you give everything you have, you can’t regret it. I hope you enjoy the last episode. @winningtimehbo I’m sure I’ll be doing many more hours of TV and many more features in my future, but for now I can say that I’m very proud of the work we’ve done on this masterpiece.

Second season Time to win HBO returned Aug. 6 with 629,000 total viewers across Max and linear telecasts. That’s a drop considering 901,000 tuned in for Season 1 debut in March 2022. By May of that year, the Season 1 finale drew 1.6 million viewers in one day. (However, Season 1 may have benefited from the buzz of March Madness, with basketball already at the forefront of viewers’ minds.)

The HBO series is based on Jeff Pearlman’s book, Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley and the Los Angeles Lakers dynasty of the 1980s. The show’s sophomore run focused on the period after the 1980 NBA Finals through 1984, culminating in the first professional rematch between the era’s greatest stars, Magic (Quincy Isaiah) and the Boston Celtics’ Larry Bird (Sean Patrick Small).

Last month, Pearlman went on X and asked people to watch the second season. “Let me tell you — the future of “Winning Time” hangs in the balance,” Pearlman tweeted. “We need viewers. The strikes are crippling. Please help spread the word. Season 2 is fantastic. But … HBO is big on #s,” he wrote.

Adrian Brady, John C. Reilly, Michael Chiklis), and Jason Segel. Time to winJason Clarke, Gabby Hoffman, Hadley Robinson, Devon Nixon, Solomon Hughes, Tamera Tomagili, Brett Cullen, Stephen Adley Gurkis, Spencer Garrett, Molly Gordon, Joey Brooks, Delante D’Souza, Jimel Atkins, M.C. Atkins, A. , Gillian Jacobs and Rob Morgan.

Executive producers are writer/co-creators Borenstein and Jim Hecht, Adam McKay, Kevin Messick, Scott Stephens, Rodney Barnes, director Sally Richardson-Whitfield and Jason Shuman.

Latest news
Related news