Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Logan Webb of the Giants was runner-up for the award – NBC Sports Bay Area & California

Giants ace Logan Webb finished second in the 2023 NL Cy Young voting, MLB announced Wednesday afternoon.

Webb became the first Giants pitcher to finish in the top three since right-handed pitcher Tim Lincecum won the award in 2009.

San Diego Padres left-hander Blake Snell won the award for the second time in his career — one in the AL and now in the NL — with 28 first-place votes.

Webb received one first-place vote and 17 second-place votes.

“He’s going to beat the Cy Young,” Webb said of Snell after pitching the second complete game of his career for the Giants in September. “He’s the best pitcher in baseball.”

Although Webb was unable to take home his first Cy Young Award, NBC Sports Bay Area’s Angelina Martin listed three reasons Webb could make a strong case for himself after his 2023 performance, and explained why Webb was the one even if he came in second. The finalist is a cause for celebration.

Webb posted a 3.25 ERA in 33 starts, which ranked fourth among all qualified pitchers in the NL. He finished with a league-high 15 quality starts.

Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Jack Galen finished third.

New York Yankees ace Gerrit Cole wins the AL Cy Young Award, earning the recognition by unanimous decision.

Download and follow the Giant’s Talk podcast

Latest news
Related news